top of page
  • Writer's pictureUhuru-Zem

I will like to go to Nigeria and research about my culture – Deontay Wilder



American professional boxer, Deontay Leshun Wilder has revealed plans to visit Nigeria which he believes is his home country to do more research about his tribe and culture.


Prior to his fight with Tyson Fury back in 2018, Deontay revealed during a roundtable discussion with his opponent that he is a Nigerian. The fearsome boxer stated that, “I’m part-Nigerian” without adding the actual part of Nigeria he comes from.


In a recent comment in preparation for his return match against Tyson, Deontay revealed that he is from Edo State in Nigeria and promised that he would soon visit Nigeria.


“Once I’m done with what I’m doing, I’m going back to see my tribe Edo. I want to go back and learn more about my culture and information about me.” Deontay who defended his WBC heavyweight title from 2015 to 2020 said.


“I want to see my culture and my ancestors and learn a lot of things. We all have lots of things that we are connected to that we know nothing about. I’d love to go there and do research about my roots and my tribe” he added.


The boxer who made ten successful defenses of his title lost to Tyson Fury in the year 2020. The two have been scheduled to take a rematch in July this year. The much-anticipated fight has topped major chats with expectations remaining very high.


3 views0 comments

Older Post 

bottom of page