top of page
  • Writer's pictureOsas Airen

The Benin Origin of Onitsha: By late President Nnamdi Azikiwe



Nnamdi Azikiwe: My Genealogy and Nativity "Thus, in tracing my parental lineage, I could say that both parents of my father are direct descendants of Eze Chima. As for me, I can trace my parental ancestry in this way:


I am the first son of Azikiwe, who was the second son of Molokwu, who was the third son of Ozomoaocha, who was the second son Inosi Onira, who was the fourth son of Dei, the second son of Eze Chima, the founder of Onitsha."


SOURCE - Nnamdi A Azikiwe: My Odyssey, chapter 1 (Spectrum Books, 1970) "My Genealogy & Nativity" P4


"I can trace my maternal ancestry thus: I am the first son of Nwanonaku Rachel Chinwe Ogbenyeanu (Aghadiuno) Azikiwe, who was the third daughter of Aghadiuno Ajie, the fifth son of Onowu Agbani, first daughter of Obi Udokwu, the son who descended from five kings of Onitsha. Five of these rulers of Onitsha were direct lineage descendants of Eze Chima(PRINCE OHIME), who lead his warriors' adventures when THEY LEFT BENIN to the ONITSHA City in about 1748 AD.


"SOURCE - Nnamdi Azikiwe: My Odyssey, chapter 1 (Spectrum Books, 1970) "My Genealogy & Nativity" P5 "One day I asked her(grandmother) the meaning of the word 'Onitsha'.


She explained that it had historical significance. The terminology meant one who despised another. It is a contraction of two words when joined together mean one who despises others. Then I asked her why despised others. She patted me on the back and told me that it was due to our aristocratic background from the Royal house of Benin and so regarded ourselves as the superiors of other tribes who had no royal blood in their veins,"


I continued to belabor my grandmother to tell me more about the history and origins of Onitsha people. She narrated that many years ago, there lived at Idu (Benin) a great King(Oba) who had many children.


Due to a power struggle regarding the right of precedence among princes of the blood and other altercations, there was a civil war in Benin. One day, the supporters of one of the princes insulted and assaulted Queen Asije, the mother of the King of Benin then in that dispensation, who was accused of having trespassed on their farmland.


Enraged at the Oba ordered his war chief and brother, Gbunuwala Asije to apprehend and punish the insurgents. In an attempt to penalize them, (OHIME), the ultimate founder of Onitsha, a Prince of the blood in his own right, led the recalcitrant against his Uncle, Gbunuwala.


This intensified the Civil war which rent the kingdom into two N'Idu, As the great trek from Benin progressed, some did not have the stout of the pioneer-warriors, and decided to settle at different places known today as Onitsha-Ado, Onitsha-Ugbo, Onitsha-Olona, Onitsha-Mili, Oboir, Issele-Uku, Ossomari, Aboh, etc.


"SOURCE - Nnamdi Azikiwe: My Odyssey, I (Spectrum Books, 1970) "My Genealogy & Nativity, P 11-12.

Most Igbo men knew Zik's book and rest. Most also know the history of the Onitshas, Zik paid homage to Oba of Benin during his lifetime. Even Owgwuta claim to descent from Benin.


23 views0 comments

Older Post 

bottom of page