top of page
  • Writer's pictureOsas Airen

UMOZO: THE BENIN SWORD OF WAR



Grand Hairy One Scottish-Canadian Archaeologist and beard enthusiast.

I go to museums, events, and re-enactments (which I also do with Alan Breck's Volunteer Regiment) and take photos to post up here.

All photos (unless they are reblogging) are taken by myself but when I post other peoples up I provide the source. If you wish to use any of my photos just ask

I'm interested in Military, Fashion, Natural, Unknown, and Ignored history as well as Steampunk, Feminism, LGBTQIA rights, Equal rights as a whole, and general nerdery.

I'm a man (I think) who wants his life to be more like a Broadway musical and/or a surreal BBC comedy.

I often engage in boughs of stand up comedy in Edinburgh and Glasgow.

I am actually a lemon!


Umozo Sword from Benin, Nigeria dated around 1897 on display at the International Slavery Museum in Liverpool.


The sword was thought to be taken during the British military expedition against Benin, the “Punitive Expedition”, in 1897. Benin had retained its independence during the 19th century with its imperial family keeping a monopoly on the trade of palm oil, rubber, and ivory.

Photographs were taken by myself in 2019.


sword Nigeria Nigerian Benin 19th century British empire art military history international slavery museum Liverpool barbucomedie 165 notes Jun 25th, 2019

49 views0 comments

Older Post 

bottom of page